Bookmark and Share
 Feed Subscribe
Go to previous country Go to next country

Formal Name: Dominican Republic
Local Name: República Dominicana
Local Formal Name: República Dominicana
Region: Caribbean
Associations: United Nations
Capital City: Santo Domingo
Main Cities: Santiago de los Caballeros, La Vega
ISO 3166 Code: DO
Population: 10,090,000
Area: 48,442km²
Currency: 1 Dominican Peso = 100 centivos
Languages: Spanish
Religions: Roman Catholic
©2009 -2011 Flags of the World Database from
Custom Search
Large The Dominican Republic Flag
Flag of The Dominican Republic

Date Flag first adopted: November 6th, 1844
Description: A centered white cross that extends to the edges divides the flag into four rectangles - the top ones are blue (hoist side) and red, and the bottom ones are red (hoist side) and blue; a small coat of arms featuring a shield supported by an olive branch (left) and a palm branch (right) is at the center of the cross; above the shield a blue ribbon displays the motto, DIOS, PATRIA, LIBERTAD (God, Fatherland, Liberty), and below the shield, REPUBLICA DOMINICANA appears on a red ribbon.