Bookmark and Share
 Feed Subscribe
Go to previous country Go to next country

Flag of Small Spanish FlagSpain

Formal Name: Kingdom of Spain
Local Name: Espaņa
Local Formal Name: Reino de Espaņa
Region: Europe
Associations: European Union, NATO, United Nations
Capital City: Madrid
Main Cities: Barcelona, Valencia, Sevilla, Zaragoza, Murcia, Malaga
ISO 3166 Code: ES
Population: 45,853,000
Area: 504,030km²
Currency: 1 euro = 100 cents
Languages: Spanish
Religions: Roman Catholic
©2009 -2011 Flags of the World Database from
Custom Search
Large Spanish Flag
Flag of Spain

Date Flag first adopted: 6th December, 1978
Description: Three horizontal bands of red (top), yellow (double width), and red with the national coat of arms on the hoist side of the yellow band; the coat of arms is quartered to display the emblems of the traditional kingdoms of Spain (clockwise from upper left, Castile, Leon, Navarre, and Aragon) while Granada is represented by the stylized pomegranate at the bottom of the shield; the arms are framed by two columns representing the Pillars of Hercules, which are the two promontories (Gibraltar and Ceuta) on either side of the eastern end of the Strait of Gibraltar; the red scroll across the two columns bears the imperial motto of "Plus Ultra" (further beyond) referring to Spanish lands beyond Europe.