Bookmark and Share
 Feed Subscribe
Go to previous country Go to next country

Comprising of England,Northern Ireland,Scotland and Wales.
Formal Name: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Local Name: United Kingdom
Local Formal Name: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Region: Europe
Associations: Commonwealth of Nations, European Union, NATO, United Nations
Capital City: London
Main Cities: Birmingham, Manchester, Glasgow, Liverpool, Sheffield
ISO 3166 Code: GB
Population: 61,024,100
Area: 243,789km²
Currency: 1 British pound = 100 penny
Languages: English, Scots Gaelic, Welsh, Irish Gaelic
Religions: Protestant, Roman Catholic, Islam
©2009 -2011 Flags of the World Database from
Custom Search
Large United Kingdom Flag
Flag of The United Kingdom

Date Flag first adopted: 1st January, 1801
Description: Blue field with the red cross of Saint George (patron saint of England) edged in white superimposed on the diagonal red cross of Saint Patrick (patron saint of Ireland), which is superimposed on the diagonal white cross of Saint Andrew (patron saint of Scotland); properly known as the Union Flag, but commonly called the Union Jack; the design and colors (especially the Blue Ensign) have been the basis for a number of other flags including other Commonwealth countries and their constituent states or provinces, and British overseas territories.